## McCollum to Receive Spencer Award

Elmer V. McCollum has been chosen to receive the 1958 Charles F. Spencer Award in agricultural and food chemistry. The award will be presented at a meeting in Kansas City on Nov. 14.

Dr. McCollum, biochemist and emeritus professor of biochemistry at Johns Hopkins, is credited with discovery of vitamin A, distinction between vitamins A and D, and pioneer work on vitamin B. His work in evaluating feeds and foods biologically laid the groundwork for the study of farm animals and major improvements in their care.

A native of Fort Scott, Kan., he received the B.S. and M.S. degrees from the University of Kansas in 1903 and 1904. In 1906, he received his Ph.D. from Yale. He then joined college of agriculture at the University of Wisconsin, where he went up through the ranks to become a full professor. In 1917 he went to Johns Hopkins as professor of biochemistry, a position he held until 1946, when he became emeritus professor. He has written many standard treatises, the most recent being the monumental "History of Nutrition."

Hugo Riemer has joined U. S. Borax & Chemical as executive vice president. He was formerly president of the Nitrogen Division of Allied Chemical. He is to be on the board of U. S. Borax, as is Norman Travis of London.

Justin Potter, board chairman of Virginia-Carolina Chemical Co., has been elected president of the company. He succeeds William Wilson, who has resigned but will remain with the company as a director and consultant. Also resigning is Richard McConnell, secretary-treasurer. R. Clifton Long, who heads advertising and public relations, was chosen secretary. Amos M. Shuster, a vice president, becomes treasurer.

Louis L. Funk and Frank B. Clayton have joined the sales staff in the agricultural chemicals department of Commercial Solvents. Funk will cover Indiana, Michigan, and northern Ohio from headquarters in Cincinnati. Clayton has been assigned to the Kansas City office, from which he will cover Kansas and Nebraska.

William E. Plummer has been promoted to works manager of the Chatham, Ont., fertilizer plant of Canadian Industries, Ltd. He succeeds Murray Smith, who is retiring.

Bogardus Werth has left Virginia-Carolina Chemical, where he was assistant sales manager for agricultural chemicals, to join Michigan Chemical as sales representative in the Southeast, with headquarters in Savannah.

Thomas E. Moffitt, president of Hooker Chemical, succeeds R. Lindley Murray as chief executive officer of the company. Murray remains as chairman of the board.

Howard E. Everson, formerly chief staff engineer of Diamond Alkali's central engineering department, has been named assistant director of research. He is to be responsible for all of the company's research activities. Promoted to associate directors of research are Clayton L. Dunning, Thomas S. Perrin, Nelson V. Seeger, and Leslie P. Seyb.

Francis X. Vaughn has been appointed assistant to the manager of marketing for Calspray. He was branch manager in McAllen, Tex.

R. A. Fisher has been named research entomologist for Calspray. He was district manager for the Southwest area. He is to be located in Phoenix, Ariz., where he will be responsible for testing and developing new pesticide products in the Southwest.

Dennis Robertson has been named Potash Co. of America sales representative for Florida. He will headquarter in Atlanta, Ga.

John C. Bierwirth, assistant treasurer for the past year, has been elected a vice president of National Distillers.

Allan E. Settle has been named director of public relations for the Manufacturing Chemists' Association, succeeding George M. Worden, who will open his own public relations firm in Washington, D. C., but continue with MCA in a consulting capacity. Settle was formerly a member of the public relations staff of Monsanto.

S. E. Ainsworth has left Dow to join Geigy Agricultural Chemicals as sales representative for Illinois and Iowa, with headquarters in Chicago.

Esper K. Chandler and Edward R. Schumann have joined the National Plant Food Institute staff as district representatives. Chandler, who was assistant professor of agronomy research at Louisiana State University, will be headquartered in Atlanta, Ga. Schumann, who has been serving with the Army Chemical Corps, will be located at St. Paul, Minn.

E. R. Steltzer has been named assistant superintendent at the Cincinnati plant of American Agricultural Chemical Co. He was formerly located at the Phoenix, N. Y., plant, and is to be replaced there by K. R. Treiber, who was assistant superintendent

at North Weymouth, Mass. Joining the staff of AAC's soil service division is Charles T. Claxton.

Bernard M. Machen has left Monsanto to become assistant sales manager for Mississippi River Chemical, St. Louis.

R. Q. Smith, president of Pacific Chemical & Fertilizer, is the new president and board chairman of Pacific Guano. Roy Dixon, president of Western States Chemical Corp., is the new vice president-general manager.

Lawrence Farison has joined Federal Chemical as agronomist, with headquarters at Columbus, Ohio.

T. F. Fricke has joined the Crag agricultural chemicals staff of Union Carbide. He will work in development and sales of Sevin insecticide from the White Plains, N. Y., headquarters. Also to work on Sevin marketing and development are J. R. Wheatley, J. D. Mueller, and T. P. Finn. Wheatley has been transferred to Memphis, Tenn., from which he will call on cotton pesticide formulators and experiment stations in the Mississippi Delta area. Mueller will move to Yakima, Wash., to concentrate on northwest fruit growing areas. Finn has transferred to Grand Rapids, Mich., to cover the North Central fruit

Virgil P. Hennen has been named by Calspray as agricultural branch manager for Yuma, Ariz. He was sales representative in Mesa, Ariz.

J. H. Elliott, Rohm & Haas Co. of Canada, Ltd., has been elected president of the Canadian Agricultural Chemicals Association.

Burt Johnson of the National Cotton Council has been elected president of the Agricultural Research Institute. New vice president is C. H. Mahoney of the National Canners Association. M. B. Gillis of International Minerals has been elected secretary.

Harold E. Frederick has been named phosphorus division sales manager-agricultural chemicals for Hooker Chemical. He was senior vice president for agricultural chemicals of Shea Chemical, before its merger with Hooker. Errol F. Cook has been named to head technical service for agricultural chemicals. He had served in a similar capacity with Shea.

Malcolm P. McCarty has joined Calspray as sales representative for the branch office in Hudson, Mass.

Leland Oberholser has been transferred by Wilson & Geo. Meyer to El Centro, Calif., to head the new sales office there. James Burley has joined the Salt Lake City sales staff.